New to this keeper league. A couple questions? Thanks! - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2014 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to Draft, Trade, Keeper and Waivers Questions

New to this keeper league. A couple questions? Thanks!

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

New to this keeper league. A couple questions? Thanks!

Postby TheGhost » Mon Feb 28, 2011 4:30 pm

So I'm new to the keeper league thing and I'm curious if a few of these players deserve to be on a roster.

Here are the roster positions that my league allows:
C, 1B, 2B, 3B, SS, OF, OF, OF, Util, SP, SP, RP, RP, P, P, P, P, BN, BN, BN, BN, BN, BN, DL, DL

1) Since I will have two DL positions, is it worth it to draft a guy like Strasburg?

2) Since I will have 6 bench slots is it worth it to draft a guy like Bryce Harper late?

3) Is a guy like Madison Bumgarner worth drafting over Roy Oswalt in a keeper league?

Any other info, is much appreciated as well! Thanks!
TheGhost
Major League Manager
Major League Manager

Cafeholic
(Past Year: 101)
Home Cafe: Baseball

Re: New to this keeper league. A couple questions? Thanks!

Postby HOOTIE » Mon Feb 28, 2011 4:38 pm

no no no

Neither guy will play this year
Bumgarner is overrated, i prefer Oswalt
Smells Like Teen Spirit
HOOTIE
Hall of Fame Hero
Hall of Fame Hero

CafeholicResponse TeamFantasy ExpertCafe Ranker
(Past Year: 297)
Location: Pearl Jam country, right next door to Nirvana, Soundgarden, and Alice in Chains.

Postby HybridTheory » Mon Feb 28, 2011 4:40 pm

In a brand new keeper league, I often bump young guys up several rounds. Its a delicate balance though, as you can't give away the 1st year of your league. All the guys you mentioned are definitely worth drafting, however, it depends on who you've got already. If you've got a couple quality starters, then you can grab Strasburg to stash him. Id definitely take Bumgarner, kids already proven he can do it.
HybridTheory
Softball Supervisor
Softball Supervisor

(Past Year: 14)