Keeper League - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2014 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to Commissioner's Corner

Keeper League

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

Keeper League

Postby mekman20 » Sun Jan 16, 2011 5:55 pm

So my friends and I have been doing single season leagues for a few years now, and we've recently decided that we will start doing a keeper league, beginning this year. We're trying to set clear rules from the outset, as keeper leagues obviously add much different scenarios. How have you guys run keeper leagues in the past? What rules or guidelines have you guys come across that you feel keeps the league the most competitive? We've been discussing some things. We started auctions last year, which we liked, so we'll draft that style again. It seems we've settled on 3 keepers. We're kind of running the idea that keeper's values stay the same as when they were drafted (or if they're pickups, setting a minimum keeper price...tentatively saying $15) for the second season, and if you want to keep for a third consecutive season, that player basically becomes a restricted free agent, where every member puts in one silent bid for said player, and the original owner then has the option of matching or not -- if they choose not to, they can choose another keeper. I think we've decided that three years is the max you can keep a player...but I guess the idea of a 4th year restricted free agent hasn't been ruled out. One of my main questions/concerns is trades. Do the "contracts" reset once the player is on a new team? Or should the tenure from the first team carry over? I'm just weary of some fishy trades going on if the traded player basically gets a fresh new three years. I'm open to all and every idea in ever facet...I've never really been in one, so I'm unaware of how most successful ones are run. I'd appreciate all input, thanks. btw it's a 12 team league.
C. McCann
1b. Agon
2b. Pedroia
3b. Arod
ss. Drew
OF. McCutchen
OF. Sizemore