Sticky Spice wrote:This is like if a receiver were to catch a game-winning touchdown pass only to have the trollfaces say, yeah, you caught a touchdown, but we made up some rules to ensure your touchdown won't count. Ha ha.
Don't even start. They didn't "make up some rule." The rule was in place. Not trying to hijack this thread but the "he was robbed", and the "that was a bad call" stuff is getting old.
Here is the exact wording from the 2010 NFL Rulebook:
go back to the football board.
The rule is stupid. It was a catch.
The rule is stupid. But it is a rule, and according to the stupid rule, that was not a catch.
And I'd just like to remind everyone that I did not bring this up, it was one of your own.
I don't even understand how it's not a catch according to that rule. It doesn't say you have to get up in possession of the ball, just that you have to maintain possession when you go to the ground, which he did.
Art Vandelay wrote:I don't even understand how it's not a catch according to that rule. It doesn't say you have to get up in possession of the ball, just that you have to maintain possession when you go to the ground, which he did.
Because he did not maintain possession, he allowed the ball to touch the ground and lost control, thus not maintaining possession throughout the catch. The gray area is what constitutes "throughout the catch." That is where the rule fails. Even a stupid monkey with common sense could tell that he caught the ball, maintained possession, and only lost it trying to hurry to get up tho celebrate. However, that hurrying to get up was seen as "continuation" and by rule, albeit stupid rule, made it an incomplete pass. And sadly, the rule does not allow for common sense.