Sticky Spice wrote:This is like if a receiver were to catch a game-winning touchdown pass only to have the trollfaces say, yeah, you caught a touchdown, but we made up some rules to ensure your touchdown won't count. Ha ha.
Don't even start. They didn't "make up some rule." The rule was in place. Not trying to hijack this thread but the "he was robbed", and the "that was a bad call" stuff is getting old.
Here is the exact wording from the 2010 NFL Rulebook:Player Possession
- Rule 3, Section 2, Article 7
A player is in possession when he is in firm grip and control of the ball inbounds
To gain possession of a loose ball (3-2-3) that has been caught, intercepted, or recovered,
a player must have complete control of the ball and have both feet completely on the
ground inbounds or any other part of his body, other than his hands, on the ground inbounds.
If the player loses the ball while simultaneously touching both feet or any other
part of his body to the ground or if there is any doubt that the acts were simultaneous,
there is no possession. This rule applies in the field of play and in the end zone.
The terms catch, intercept, recover, advance, and fumble denote player possession (as
distinguished from touching or muffing).Note 1: A player who goes to the ground in the process of attempting to secure possession
of a loose ball (with or without contact by an opponent) must maintain control of the
ball after he touches the ground, whether in the field of play or the end zone. If he loses
control of the ball, and the ball touches the ground before he regains control, there is no
possession. If he regains control prior to the ball touching the ground, it is a catch,
interception, or recovery.
Note 2: If a player goes to the ground out-of-bounds (with or without contact by an opponent)
in the process of attempting to secure possession of a loose ball at the sideline,
he must retain complete and continuous control of the ball throughout the act of falling
to the ground and after hitting the ground, or there is no possession.
Note 3: If a player has control of the ball, a slight movement of the ball will not be considered
loss of possession. He must lose control of the ball in order to rule that there has
been a loss of possession.