Razor Wars - what do you shave with? - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2015 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to General Talk

Razor Wars - what do you shave with?

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

Razor Wars - what do you shave with?

Postby knapplc » Tue Jul 13, 2010 5:23 pm

Shaving sucks. I've been shaving for 25 years and I hate it. I should shave every day but I don't, because I refuse to. I treat shaving with contempt, and only shave when absolutely necessary.

I ran across this article discussing the nonsense that goes along with shaving. Apparently I use the most basic dinosaur of a razor, one that came out in 1990 (on the far left in the picture). I also don't use shaving cream - that's the biggest scam since the pet rock. I shave in the shower using bar soap. It's a better lubricant, it doesn't cost anything extra, and it does a far better job than shaving creams or gels. Further, I HATE that cologne crap they put in most shaving creams.

Here's the article:

Jeff Hagan, a 43-year-old investment banker in San Francisco, doesn't need to buy another blade or razor for the next four years.

That's because last year, tired of trying to keep up with the cycle of shaving-system upgrades and price hikes, Mr. Hagan bought 100 Gillette Mach3 blades. Then he found oil that helps double the blades' lifespan.

"I'm basically investing in blade futures," Mr. Hagan remembers telling onlookers at Costco as they marveled at the pile of cartridges in his cart. "That's my hedge against getting forced to upgrade."

His hoarding came just in time. This spring, the titans of shaving, Procter & Gamble Co.'s Gillette (NYSE: PG - News) and Energizer Holdings Inc.'s Schick launched another round of their endless duel, with systems touting improved blades, more ergonomic handles and, inevitably, higher prices.