The common statistics - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2015 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to Baseball Leftovers

The common statistics

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

The common statistics

Postby skjelstrom » Wed Jun 16, 2010 6:39 pm

I'm not very good with the statistic. I don't know many and don't know how to use them correctly. One I do know is BABIP. But can that really be reliable? So BABIP if I understand correctly is Batting Average on Balls In Play. For batters how does that mean there "lucky" or "unlucky" couldn't they just be placing the ball wrong and its not going to change. Also people tend to base it off of career BABIP's which would make more sense, but that wouldn't work for a player who changes parks, for example Adrian Beltre. His BABIP of .367 compared to a career BABIP of .293 would suggest he would fall. But maybe he is just placing the ball better at Fenway as compared to Safeco or Dodger Stadium.

And for pitchers BABIP if their getting "unlucky" and the fielding is letting them down, its not like their fielding or ballpark is going to change dramatically anytime soon so why would you expect them to do better? Maybe I'm missing something big, but I just don't understand this stuff completely. Any of the statistics gurus care to help me out and explain some things.

What are the correct ways to use the statistics and how can you trust them?

What are some other things to use other than BABIP that work for predictions?
skjelstrom Beginner
Major League Manager
Major League Manager

(Past Year: 100)
Home Cafe: Baseball

Re: The common statistics

Postby jake_twothousandfive » Wed Jun 16, 2010 7:07 pm

I don't know that I'd call any single statistic a good basis for projections. Good players have a diverse skill set which feed off of one another. I think you need to understand most major statistics to be able to make realistic insights/projections.