Is Catcher now a deep position? - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2014 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to Baseball Leftovers

Is Catcher now a deep position?

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

Is Catcher now a deep position?

Postby Matthias » Mon Jun 14, 2010 9:20 am

So I've been doing fantasy baseball for about 5 years now and this is the first point that I can remember that in 1 catcher leagues, you can have legitimate studs like Mauer or McCann and, even if you believe that they'll fill their projections, don't justify themselves as a high pick because there's such depth at the position. Let's think a second about the catchers in next year's draft.

Mauer
McCann
Victor Martinez
Wieters
M. Montero
Napoli
Posada
Soto
Martin
Santana
Posey
Jaso?
J. Montero?

In 2 catcher leagues, I think the position will look like 3B this year with a decent list of quality options and then the bottom drops out.

Thoughts?
0-3 to 4-3. Worst choke in the history of baseball. Enough said.
Matthias
General Manager
General Manager

Home Cafe: Baseball

Re: Is Catcher now a deep position?

Postby Pogotheostrich » Mon Jun 14, 2010 10:38 am

I still don't see anyone to get excited about after Mauer, McCann and V-mart. And chances are they go much earlier than I would be willing to take them.
Pogotheostrich
Hall of Fame Hero
Hall of Fame Hero

CafeholicFantasy ExpertCafe WriterMock(ing) DrafterEagle EyePick 3 Weekly WinnerLucky Ladders Weekly Winner
(Past Year: 380)

Postby Holein1 » Mon Jun 14, 2010 10:52 am

suzuki has been great also.

3b has turned into a very shallow position with ramirez and chipper no longer playing well
Holein1
Minor League Mentor
Minor League Mentor

(Past Year: 10)

Postby Matthias » Mon Jun 14, 2010 11:19 am

Pogotheostrich wrote:I still don't see anyone to get excited about after Mauer, McCann and V-mart. And chances are they go much earlier than I would be willing to take them.

Then I think you're not looking.