FAAB advice/talk - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2014 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to Commissioner's Corner

FAAB advice/talk

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

FAAB advice/talk

Postby eneric » Sat Apr 10, 2010 8:56 am

I'm in a dynasty league where we're using this thing called FAAB (free agency acquisition budget). Each manager has $100 to bid for players on waivers for the season. This is my first year doing this and I'm a little unsure on just how much to bid on certain players. For instance Jason Heyward is available on waivers until tomorrow and I've bid $70 on him thinking I may need some money later on in the season to pick up a to be closer when someone goes down due to injury. It's a H2H league and my ONLY closer is Mike effing Gonzalez. Would any of you experienced users of this FAAB system use up all $100 bidding for a player like Heyward? After all a dynasty league is one in which you keep each player each year until you either trade them, cut them or they retire. I think Heyward would be a HUGE addition to my already powerful offense.
eneric
College Coach
College Coach

(Past Year: 32)
Home Cafe: Baseball

Re: FAAB advice/talk

Postby bigmck » Sat Apr 10, 2010 10:48 am

If you want to use almost all you money in the first week, that would be up to you. It is a long season, I would make a smaller bid, maybe 10 and hope I got him. It is Jason Heyward, not Babe Ruth.
bigmck
Major League Manager
Major League Manager

(Past Year: 59)

Postby eneric » Sat Apr 10, 2010 11:23 am

Do you have any previous experience with FAAB?
eneric
College Coach
College Coach

Postby sethreaux » Sat Apr 10, 2010 11:27 am

Hey guys, quick question. In my league this is our first year with FAAB. We use Yahoo. Does it work like Ebay? Say I put in a $20 bid on a player but the next highest bid is $10. Do I get the player for $11, or do I have to pay the full $20 bid?
Thanks, and sorry for the thread hijack.
sethreaux
T-Ball Trainer