Is this a bad approach? - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2014 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to Beginner's Forum

Is this a bad approach?

Is this a bad approach?

Postby fangthe7th » Tue Apr 06, 2010 9:35 am

This is my first time drafting fantasy baseball and I noticed that a lot of people put emphasis on getting and stocking up on closers. My problem is... I didn't realize how important they were until after the draft when I noticed a huge run on relief pitchers near the middle/end of the draft. The average person in my league has around 4 closers, when I only got one. If my starters and batting are okay to good, in a 5x5 roto league with 25 players, should I bother trading to get more saves or just focus on the other categories?

Here is my team:
C: Victor Martinez
1B: Mark Teixeira
2B: Dustin Pedroia
3B: Adrian Beltre
SS: Derek Jeter
1B/3B: James Loney
2B/SS: Erick Aybar
OF: Andre Ethier, Johnny Damon, Adam Dunn, Alex Rios, J.D. Drew, Nolan Reimold, Cody Ross
UT: Ryan Theriot

SP: Roy Halladay, Josh Johnson, Scott Baker, Chad Billingsley, Roy Oswalt, Gavin Floyd, Hiroki Kuroda, Stephen Strasburg
RP: K-Rod, Ryan Madson

What should I do about my save situation?
fangthe7th
Little League Legend
Little League Legend

Home Cafe: Baseball

Re: Is this a bad approach?

Postby Fenris-77 » Tue Apr 06, 2010 2:43 pm

Well, you will be able to pick up saves off the waiver wire as the season progresses, you just need to be aggressive about identifying and adding the right guys. That takes the form of guys who grab a full time closer role when someone else gets injured (or just sucks too much) but it can also be from short term adds when an established closer misses a week or two, or the occasional vulture save from a set-up guy who's pitching behind a closer that a team won't pitch too many days in a row.

How many players in your league and does your league have any bench slots and/or DL slots? Both can affect how you approach things.
Fenris-77