Beginner Looking For Advice - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2015 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to Beginner's Forum

Beginner Looking For Advice

Beginner Looking For Advice

Postby DBacks » Tue Mar 23, 2010 7:43 pm

So I've been playing Fantasy Football for over 10 years now, but am just now trying to get into Fantasy Baseball. As I'm sure you can tell from my screen name, I'm a D-Backs fan, and while I consider myself pretty knowledgeable about them and somewhat knowledgeable about the NL, I have no more than a casual fan's knowledge of the AL.

Anyways, I'm finding Fantasy Baseball far more, subjective, than it's football counterpart. In fantasy football I have a pretty clear cut strategy that works well every year... Go RB early and often, focus on WRs next, grab a QB in the middle rounds, then just fill in back ups till you finish up with a defense and kicker. I'm having a pretty difficult time trying to figure out a decent Fantasy Baseball strategy though.

My league is 10 team H2H, 5x5 category. As far as I know it's fairly generic, except for a large bench. Positions are C, 1st, 2nd, 3rd, SS, 3 OF, Util, 3 SP, 2 RP, 3 P, 8 bench spots.

I've been doing some mock drafts and I think I've found a decent strategy, but I'd really appreciate some input. I generally like to start out my first few rounds with power, high HR and RBI guys. In the 4th, more often than not I grab McCann, but if not I'll continue with hitters looking for the best value considering position scarcity. I try to have 1st, 2nd, 3rd, 1 OF, C, and SS filled after 6 rounds, but once in awhile I won't be able to grab a 3rd, SS, or C without reaching.