First Year Playing - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2015 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to Beginner's Forum

First Year Playing

First Year Playing

Postby Rabid58 » Tue Mar 09, 2010 5:19 pm

Hey this is my first year playing in a Fantasy baseball league. I am in a league with some friends. It's a 10 person league and i know i have the 7th pick. It's h2h scoring also. I'm just not sure what strategy to use while drafting. Do i want to take the best avalible pick at the beginning then start going by position later on? Where could i get some cheat sheets and play projections? I just want to know some of the basics of how you guys draft and tips ya got!
Thanks
Rabid58
Softball Supervisor
Softball Supervisor

(Past Year: 1)
Home Cafe: Baseball

Re: First Year Playing

Postby Rabid58 » Thu Mar 11, 2010 10:42 pm

no one has any advice?
Rabid58
Softball Supervisor
Softball Supervisor

Postby AKhomebrewer » Fri Mar 12, 2010 4:13 am

The Cafe here is chock full of links, rankings, projections and all manner of stats. J35J's spread sheet and Rookies and Cream's MDP are a couple of good current ones on the 'leftovers' forum. Feel free to browse and pick up as much as you can, but don't allow yourself to get overwhelmed if this is really new to you.

In terms of draft strategy, I'll typically look for best player/value through the first few rounds, then work from a tiered positional list after that. You need to be able to quickly adjust your draft based on what the first few rounds give you under this plan of attack.

A 10-team league (assuming MLB-universe) is pretty small, so there's going to be a lot of talent left on the cutting-room floor. Because of this, don't be overly concerned with the dreaded "positional scarcity". Use tiered position lists, if that's how you're leaning, but don't pass up a steal to chase positions.