Thoughts on "H2H - One Win" leagues? - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2014 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to Baseball Leftovers

Thoughts on "H2H - One Win" leagues?

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

Thoughts on "H2H - One Win" leagues?

Postby Yankeesin05 » Tue Feb 23, 2010 4:12 pm

Instead of getting a win for HRs, SBs, ERA, etc., you only get a one win at the end of the week if you win the most categories. So instead of the final score at the end of the week being 7-5 or something, it would be 1-0. One of my leagues is trying to implement it for this year and I don't like it. I've been playing fantasy baseball for a couple years now and I've always just played you get a win for every category you win and it's always worked great. Just wanted to get some thoughts from the cafe.
Yankeesin05
Minor League Mentor
Minor League Mentor

(Past Year: 2)
Home Cafe: Baseball

Re: Thoughts on "H2H - One Win" leagues?

Postby MTUCache » Tue Feb 23, 2010 4:21 pm

Honestly, my first thought is that it makes sense. Turn the season into 26 "games" and have at it. Doesn't matter how you score your points, it only matters that you win. I don't think it would make that big of a difference in the end, just because the season is so long your close losses and big wins are going to even out.

You've still got all the same H2H problems as before, so you're not fixing anything there... you're just simplifying the standings a bit.

By going weekly H2H you're already losing that "extra credit" you'd get from a big statistical week, so the only thing you're doing here is ranking teams by "wins" instead of "goal differential". At the end of the season the teams with the highest goal-differentials are usually at the top in wins anyway, right?

Am I missing an obvious negative here?
MTUCache
Major League Manager
Major League Manager

Postby da bears » Tue Feb 23, 2010 4:45 pm