Number of Owners vs Quality of League question - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2014 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to Commissioner's Corner

Number of Owners vs Quality of League question

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

Number of Owners vs Quality of League question

Postby jonny2fngrs » Mon Feb 22, 2010 1:44 pm

I have been running a 5x5 NL only roto league for several years. We have had anywhere from 10 - 12 owners. Recently I joined a 12 team mixed league and then got ridiculed to no end by a few of the owners. Of course an argument ensued and I was told that a 12 team mixed league is a joke and requires little to no skill to win while at the same time they were espousing the merits of a 13 team NL only league and how it is a truer judgement of an owners skills. I argued that even in a 12 team league, it seems as if you get hit with a couple injuries and you have no chance to recover. I also think that in a 12 team mixed that it still takes skill to put the best lineup on the field maybe moreso because the choices aren't so obvious. Also with our FAAB we have the guys who tweek their teams with what little quality that is available and those who do nothing, hoarding their money til someone gets traded over.

My question is, what makes a league tougher, the quality of the owners or the number of owners?
jonny2fngrs
Little League Legend
Little League Legend

Home Cafe: Baseball

Re: Number of Owners vs Quality of League question

Postby bigmck » Mon Feb 22, 2010 2:38 pm