new to fantasy baseball- lots of questions! - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2014 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to Beginner's Forum

new to fantasy baseball- lots of questions!

new to fantasy baseball- lots of questions!

Postby seahawks506 » Wed Feb 10, 2010 9:27 pm

Hey, I'm playing in a standard roto 5x5 and an H2H 5 category league (non dynasty/keeper) . I am wondering, could anyone give me some drafting advice? Like what kind of players should I look for? What positions should be taken priority? How should I go about drafting my team? I am fairly new to fantasy baseball. I also have a couple of questions.
How does Roto style affect how I should draft/run my team?
I know that there are days when a lot of teams don't play and there are only a few games that day. How does fantasy baseball deal with that? Or do ESPN leagues have weekly matchups?

Thanks!
seahawks506
Little League Legend
Little League Legend

Home Cafe: Football

Re: new to fantasy baseball- lots of questions!

Postby SlightlyStoopid » Thu Feb 11, 2010 1:40 am

There are lots of strategies out there and there isn't one concrete way in order to draft. A basic strategy is to pick the best player available regardless of position in the first 5 or 6 rounds, get 2 or 3 top end SP with the next couple rounds and use the next 2-3 rounds filling the holes from the first 5-6 players you took. i.e if you ended up with 3 OF and a 3B and SS with your first 5, then aim to grab 1B and a 2B. All the while keeping an eye out for players that are falling way below thier average draft position. These players may represent great bargains. Also watch for runs on certain positions, like closers, if 5-6 teams start taking up a certain position you may be left out in the cold and end up with a scrub in a position if you haven't drafted one or two already.