James, Shandler, Prospectus: Fantasy Baseball Books - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2014 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to Baseball Leftovers

James, Shandler, Prospectus: Fantasy Baseball Books

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

James, Shandler, Prospectus: Fantasy Baseball Books

Postby kaiser » Sun Jan 31, 2010 6:10 pm

I'd like to buy one of those three to use in preparing for the three fantasy drafts I will be doing this year. I've never used any of them, or any books before, just magazines.

Bill James Handbook
Ron Shandler's Baseball Forecaster
Baseball Prospectus 2010

James, of course, is considered the godfather, but his book doesn't look all that geared to simple fantasy draft use. It is the one that most interests me on a reading leve, but may not be the best to use in prep for a draft, if I don't have a ton of time.

I've read some of Shandler's articles, and they always seem pretty solid.

Baseball Prospectus has the PETCO system, which is very interesting to me, and seems the most "ready made" for draft day use.

Anyone have any advice?
kaiser
Hall of Fame Hero
Hall of Fame Hero

EditorCafeholicCafe Ranker
(Past Year: 307)
Home Cafe: Baseball

Re: James, Shandler, Prospectus: Fantasy Baseball Books

Postby GotowarMissAgnes » Sun Jan 31, 2010 6:40 pm

Yeah, James is probably the worst of the three for fantasy purposes.

I've never used Shandler, but I know a lot swear by him. BP's PECOTA struggled last year. Some think that the loss of Nate Silver has hurt them.
"I don't want to play golf. When I hit a ball, I want someone else to chase it."
GotowarMissAgnes
Hall of Fame Hero
Hall of Fame Hero

Fantasy Expert

Postby Verminator » Sun Jan 31, 2010 7:07 pm

The Forecaster won me a league last year... it opened my eyes to Sabremetrics and variability in fantasy baseball. I think they are especially strong with the valuation of starting pitchers.
When it comes to exaggerating, I always give 110%.
Verminator
Minor League Mentor