A "virgin" at fantasy baseball--need help - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2015 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to Beginner's Forum

A "virgin" at fantasy baseball--need help

A "virgin" at fantasy baseball--need help

Postby Azazel » Sat Jan 30, 2010 1:10 pm

Hi all....I'm a newbie, be kind.... :)

My neighbor has asked me to join his NL only league this year. I know very little about FB. I've followed baseball TEAMS for 40+ years...but, I've never played FB before.

I hate to ask a DUMB question but.....when I draft my team of 23-26 players, do I need to pick a 'starting 9' every day? Like a regular baseball team?? Or, do my points just accumulate with ALL 23-26 guys? Do I need to pick a starting pitcher EVERY DAY?

I hate to look/sound dumb...but...I'm not sure if it's like fantasy football, where you need to pick ONE starter at a position every week.

thanks for the help..
Azazel
T-Ball Trainer

Home Cafe: Baseball

Re: A "virgin" at fantasy baseball--need help

Postby Pochucker » Sat Jan 30, 2010 11:11 pm

Welcome to world of Fantasy Baseball --nothing like it.
You need to find out what your league "settings" are. Some leagues do indeed require daily lineup changes and others use weekly lineups. Also there are many variations as to how many line up spots there are. Might be 8 reg positions +additional middle or corner IF or DH and Utility spot. Maybe even two catcher spots. Same goes for pitchers-- normally 5 starters and two RPs but many variations. Same goes for "bench" and DL spots many variations. Good Luck you will never watch game the sameway.
Pochucker
Minor League Mentor
Minor League Mentor

(Past Year: 1)

Postby Seatownfavorite » Sun Jan 31, 2010 2:31 pm