Tips for a Rookie Commish? - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2015 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to Commissioner's Corner

Tips for a Rookie Commish?

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

Tips for a Rookie Commish?

Postby HeyArnold » Wed Jan 06, 2010 4:37 pm

I'm not new to fantasy baseball, but I am new to being the commissioner of a league. I'll be running a casually competitive 16 team keeper league for the members of various Broncos and Rockies message boards. I have an idea of the skeleton of the league, but I'd like to get some opinions on how I should make the rules and settings. The league will be on ESPN.com, so it has to be within the site's limitations. Basically any advice you have for a rookie commish is appreciated.

Here's the basics:

• 16 teams
  • Al and NL
  • 5X5 scoring
  • Keeper League (undecided on number of keepers)
  • Auction draft
  • Head-to-head weekly matchups
  • 6 teams make the postseason

I think that's the skeleton of the league, but I could be forgetting something. Any advice is appreciated as I am trying to make this league as good and competitive as it can be. I'm sure I left you guys with some questions too, so go ahead and ask me anything I forgot to put.

-HeyArnold ;-D

Supporter of Colorado Sports Teams
HeyArnold
Little League Legend
Little League Legend

Home Cafe: Baseball

Re: Tips for a Rookie Commish?

Postby Curtis Pride » Wed Jan 06, 2010 6:06 pm

Get a second person who has the commissioner buttons. This will ensure that if any shady comes up there's another person you can turn to and who has their eyes on you to make sure you aren't screwing with things.

Additionally make everything open to debate regarding the settings before hand. However, in order to make it so the league never moves forward and everything is questioned...

...Produce what you think the settings should be. Then leave an open period for people to question the settings.