My First Accident - Need Advice - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2014 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to General Talk

My First Accident - Need Advice

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

My First Accident - Need Advice

Postby Sticky Spice » Tue Aug 25, 2009 9:55 am

I'm the one who started the Cash for Clunkers thread and guess what... what goes around comes around. Before I've even made my first payment some guy backs into my brand new (parked) car :~(

The guy has Nationwide and I am to meet an adjuster at a local body shop tomorrow morning. They are to give me a check for the damage and a voucher for Enterprise.

I am completely new at this and want to protect myself financially as best I can. The Nationwide person I spoke to on the phone asked who I wanted to use and I had no idea so I just said a Hyundai dealership since it is (was) brand new. I don't think they actually have a body shop so I guess they'd just ship it out anyway. I also want to save time and not drag this thing out.

Any advice would be appreciated - thanks guys.
“Most men lead lives of quiet desperation and go to the grave with the song still in them.” --Henry David Thoreau
Sticky Spice
Major League Manager
Major League Manager

Cafe Musketeer
(Past Year: 42)
Home Cafe: Baseball

Re: My First Accident - Need Advice

Postby knapplc » Tue Aug 25, 2009 9:58 am

That's a tough call. It's difficult to find a good mechanic. I was in this town over ten years before I found someone I trust, and even then it's a crapshoot if you don't know much about cars. I would ask your insurance provider if there is a body shop they recommend. Do the whole BBB due diligence stuff, too, and don't hesitate to ask around. You'd be surprised which of your friends may have experience with whomever the insurance company suggests. It can't hurt.

Sorry about your car. :-/
Keep wreves in General Talk in 2011!
knapplc
Hall of Fame Hero
Hall of Fame Hero

CafeholicGolden Eagle Eye
Home Cafe: Football