stymie38 wrote:Today's Jays/O's game... Top of the 4th, two out, Alex Rios is the runner on first.
Vernon Wells grounds to the hole at short, and Rios beats the throw to 2nd. But Rios, thinking he has been called out on a force play, wanders off the bag and gets tagged by 2B Brian Roberts for the third out.
Apparently it's been ruled an FC, but why hasn't Wells been awarded an infield single? If Rios safely reached second base, how is this any different than a runner being thrown out at 3rd trying to go from 1st to 3rd on a single??
I've scored enough in my day to know that every base has to be accounted for. The fact that Rios had to be tagged out, indicated that he had reached 2nd safely.
If I'm a Vernon Wells owner, I'm not happy.
No, the scorekeeper has made the correct ruling here. It's a FC.
The runner isn't considered to safely reach second in this case...Much like a basestealer "stealing a bag" but being ruled out when he slides past base (No SB in that case either).