walkoffblast wrote:Fantasy GM wrote:-Everyone knows the limits each week, it's been that way all year.
-No one knew that ESPN allows you to go over the limit if your last eligible starter goes that day as well.
Yep, no one would know the second bullet unless they read the rules. The whole point is that by definition on espn a limit of X starts per week allows your second condition.Fantasy GM wrote:I didn't notice this. I figured a limit is a limit.
My point is what you figured was not the case. You failed to notice something and clarify it. To retroactively say this is what I meant is always an iffy situation. My point is you told them to read the rules to understand them. Say the guy did read everything, he would have thought he was doing something legal. Can you really punish someone for unintentionally doing something that IMO someone would have had a strong case for doing intentionally? I also might wonder if he really is so dumb he cannot count to 12 or he was just being savvy. Three times in 7 weeks is a pretty big coincidence. Whatever the case do you really think it is fair to punish someone for something you as the commish clearly did not understand at the time he made the move. If you did not know how it worked how was this dumb guy supposed to?
Maybe even more important: how do you punish a guy for something he already did 2 times and you never even said anything about it? If he had any questions about whether it was legal before doing it twice he would be pretty sure it was alright the third time.
None of the other teams can see the second bullet. It's in the fine print on the League Manager "edit options" page under that category. Every team only sees the start limit per week (which in this case was 12). I should have looked into all the boxscores the previous weeks - I didn't notice anything the two other weeks because the affected pitchers didn't score much at all and the team won by a big margin.
When every team enters the game limits page, the ONLY THING they can see is the max # of starts. They don't see this ESPN exception thing (just to clarify), so he couldn't say he read about this, because it's not even there.