I am computer illiterate and need help buying a MacBook! - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2015 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to General Talk

I am computer illiterate and need help buying a MacBook!

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

I am computer illiterate and need help buying a MacBook!

Postby Zito is God » Tue May 19, 2009 1:59 am

Hello, I am in the process of choosing between the Aluminum Macbook and the standard white model. I have some questions because my computer skills are lacking and I need some advice. I am a college student on a budget so the extra $300 matter to me. I plan on using the computer mainly for writing papers, online surfing, webcam chat, and watching movies. I also would like to say that I am beyond lost when it comes to understanding how to set up wireless connections so whatever is made for dummies in regards of being able to connect to wireless networks at coffee shops for example would be ideal. With that said, here are my questions:

- The aluminum model has more RAM and Memory, it also has the DDR3 instead of the DDR2. I have no idea what that DDR stuff is. Does it make a huge difference? Does the RAM and memory make a huge difference?

- I have no idea what this Firewire stuff is but people seem to be complaining that the Aluminum doesn't have it. What is it? Is it important? Do I need it?

- Any general advice about my questions would be GREATLY appreciated cause I am lost and don't wanna pull the trigger on the wrong product. Thank you.

Sean Tracey has my apologies, we all know Ozzie Guillen is an idiot. I'm rooting for you!
Zito is God
General Manager
General Manager

Cafe WriterPick 3 Weekly Winner
Home Cafe: Baseball

Re: I am computer illiterate and need help buying a MacBook!

Postby jfg » Tue May 19, 2009 3:26 am

If those are your only concerns when buying a computer, don't pay premium prices for a Mac. Buy a PC. You can get a decent PC laptop for what you want to do for around 600 dollars.