Changing from Redraft to Keeper - Rules/Settings Question - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2014 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to Commissioner's Corner

Changing from Redraft to Keeper - Rules/Settings Question

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

Changing from Redraft to Keeper - Rules/Settings Question

Postby phorts » Sat Mar 14, 2009 12:00 pm

Hey guys n gals.

I've been running a standard 10-12 team 5x5 H2H league for the past 5 years and am finally getting around to switching it over to a keeper league. I have all the rules setup in Yahoo (draft order, keeper assignments, etc). But I have a couple general rules I have questions on that i couldnt seem to find here in the forums or on Google. Any help is appreciated and WHIR if needed.

Standard Yahoo PLUS! 12 Team H2H Keeper League - Keeping 1 player this year and moving up to 2 next year and so on until we reach 3-4 players.

1. I've read that basically you lose the pick for the round in which the player you decide to keep was drafted in LAST years draft. In the case of an undrafted player, you would lose your last round pick. Is this how everyone is setting theirs up?

2. How are you deciding draft order? I'm realizing that this has a pretty significant impact on deciding who to keep and who you think you can get back with your first round pick. Also, the 2 new managers we added were given 4th and 5th pick overall by way of the Random Draft Order Generator I used.. so, with my current rules they can basically choose to keep a first rounder that wasnt kept by any of the returning managers AS WELL as select another first round player BEFORE i get to select in the first round. I'm having a hard time feeling like that's fair, but i dont know how else do do it.

3. Next year, do you get to keep the same player you kept THIS year?