Unemployment question? - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2014 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to General Talk

Unemployment question?

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

Unemployment question?

Postby Phatferd » Mon Dec 01, 2008 4:27 pm

I just became a product of the economy and was laid-off. It sucks, but I know there is nothing I can do about it. I plan on hitting the market hard and finding a new job, but I am also realistic and know it's a tough time to find work if you are out of a job.

Anyways, I was a 1099 employee for this company, but they were my employer. I had direct bosses and was told when and how to perform my job and had to give a weekly report of my actions. I think the term for this is Common Law Employee. If you asked my employer they would say I was an independent contractor, but that was only so they didn't have to pay the taxes on me.

Anyways, I was hoping some of you out there would have some insight on my situation. I applied for unemployment this morning, but it will take weeks before they give me an answer. Do you guys know if 1099 employees are even eligible for unemployment benefits?

I live in California for the record; I know it differs from state to state.
You have no frame of reference, Donny. You're like a child who walks into the middle of a movie...
Phatferd
General Manager
General Manager

Home Cafe: Baseball

Re: Unemployment question?

Postby knapplc » Mon Dec 01, 2008 4:43 pm

Tough question, and as you say, Cali laws will be the key. 1099 employees are independent contractors, and the fact that you had internal bosses wouldn't get around that fact here in NE.

I would imagine you would not have a time penalty to receive benefits since you were laid off through no fault of your own, but again, that's going to be a state-specific call.

Good luck to you, man. Sorry to hear about your situation. :-/
Keep wreves in General Talk in 2011!
knapplc
Hall of Fame Hero
Hall of Fame Hero

CafeholicGolden Eagle Eye