CBS vs. ESPN for keeper league - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2014 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to Commissioner's Corner

CBS vs. ESPN for keeper league

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

CBS vs. ESPN for keeper league

Postby jmurphy_j » Wed Oct 22, 2008 11:52 am

I just finished 1st season of a keeper league on CBS (for the record, I am just a manager, not the commissioner of this league). The same group of managers has had a non-keeper league going on Yahoo for years, but we switched to CBS once we decided to make it a keeper league.

I know CBS is regarded as one of the top sites, but we seemed to have a lot of issues. Many of the problems can be chalked up the the fact that we were all new to keeper leagues and new to the CBS website. However, we found that the website was not at all user-friendly. And while I must admit that the information available on the website is excellent, it can be very difficult to find and sort through that info. One manager in the league was very fond of pointing out that player reasearch took him 3-4 times longer on CBS than it used to on Yahoo.

Even though most managers got used to the website during the season, at least one (and possibly more) are threatening to drop out of the league if we stick with CBS for next season. We are considering calling his (their) bluff, but since the league has been together for awhile, we are also looking into other website options.

Since Yahoo doesn't have keeper settings, that is not an option. Which finally leads me to my questions: Has anybody here used ESPN for a keeper league? How does ESPN compare to CBS and Yahoo? Are there any other good websites out there for keeper leagues? And while the quality of information and the keeper league features on a new website are important to us, clearly "ease of use" and a user-friendly website would be our primary consideration if we made a change.

Thanks in advance!

-Jim
jmurphy_j
College Coach
College Coach