Is it time to tinker with my value strategy? - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2014 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to Baseball Leftovers

Is it time to tinker with my value strategy?

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

Is it time to tinker with my value strategy?

Postby Danks81 » Fri Mar 05, 2004 8:16 pm

Ok I started playing fantasy baseball in 1997 and have had a team in every season except 2002. During that time frame (1997-2001, 2003) I have had 14 teams. Of those 14 teams, 10 were in yahoo, 4 through espn. I won with 9 out of 14 team. In 2001 I won all 5 leagues I was in. I took 2002 off because I was bored with fantasy baseball, then I played again last year, one team in a yahoo public league ... I won it.

Now I know I am a pretty good fantasy baseball player. It comes from taking a lot of educated risks and loading up on valuable players in positions that are low on talent. i.e. SS, Catcher, and closer.

However it is my observation that the desparity in talent for SS and C have dropped considerably. At SS there is still A-Rod as king (until he loses his SS eligibility) but I think the pack is catching up to Jeter, Nomar, and Tejada. Renteria, Cabrera, Furcal, and the possible emergence of Matsui, Crosby, and Rollins are decreasing the relative value of Jeter, Tejada, and Nomar. The same goes at catcher, where the king, Piazza has a career at C that is tailing off, with only the inconsistent Javy Lopez, and the good but unspectacular Posada to carry the torch. Varitek is good but not great.

The story of closers is similar. I think definitive closers are not as prevelant as before.

All in all I am finding that it is harder to reap the rewards of cornering the market on talent in the positions of C, SS, and CL. Am I the only one who feels this way?
"I tried to hit a 1,000-foot homer. I went down on the ground and wasn't the same after that."
- Henry Rodriguez
Danks81
Minor League Mentor
Minor League Mentor

Home Cafe: Baseball