Setting up a Dynasty League - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2014 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to Commissioner's Corner

Setting up a Dynasty League

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

Setting up a Dynasty League

Postby KenDawg19 » Tue Oct 07, 2008 8:00 am

Can anyone give me some suggestions on starting a dynasty league with a 26 man roster? I have been running a 5 player keeper league for 4 years now and we decided to start a 12 team dynasty league from scratch for 2009. Some of my questions include:

1. How many keepers from year to year? Should there be a minimum or maximum number? Or just a set number that every owner must keep?
2. How long should player "contracts" be?

Any suggestions would be welcome.

Thanks,
Kenny
KenDawg19
Softball Supervisor
Softball Supervisor

Home Cafe: Football

Re: Setting up a Dynasty League

Postby Bobbleheadrusty » Tue Oct 07, 2008 5:45 pm

OK Kenny.. Here is what my Dynasty league does (after a little trial and error). We have 18 teams, so that may have some effective differences, but probably not.

25 man teams with a 5 man minor league system.
H2H points league
Weekly locked rosters starting C, 1B, 2B, 3B, SS, OF, OF, OF, DH, P, P, P, P, P, P
(sidenote, we do weekly rosters to stop streaming and all pitchers are treated equally).

Draft order is set by total points during the fantasy playoffs, with playoff teams getting the final 4 picks in reverse order of finish.

Roster rules:
Any player still eligible for the rookie of the year award may be held in the minors.
Players moved to the major league roster can not be demoted again unless they are demoted by their own team (so if I brought up Lowrie I couldnt send him down later in the year)
Minor league players MAY be on the major league roster
Veterans who are sent to the minors are NOT eligible for the minor league roster (Liriano, Myers)