Mussina next year - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2014 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to Baseball Leftovers

Mussina next year

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

Mussina next year

Postby stumpak » Tue Sep 23, 2008 12:14 pm

Reading through some of the posts where Mussina is mentioned in an ancillary way, I get the impression that no one has high hopes for him for 2009.

Sure he will be a free agent and well into the age when many SPs become ineffective, but the guy has a top 25 WHIP for 2008 and an ERA to match, and there is nothing sabremetrically to suggest that he is getting lucky (on the face of it at least, I am not a true expert here). He has an amazing K/BB rate and is walking less than 1 guy per start. Performance has been steady all year and there is nothing weird in his splits.

Recognizing the possibility that age could always hit him hard and suddenly, is there any other reason to think that he will not be able to be a fantasy contributor again next year? Based on what I am seeing, he might make an attractive value pick.
stumpak
General Manager
General Manager

Home Cafe: Baseball

Re: Mussina next year

Postby noseeum » Tue Sep 23, 2008 1:07 pm

I think you have it right. He clearly adjusted to his lost velocity and is a completely different pitcher now. But I think for fantasy purposes there's nothing sexy about him. His ks should continue to decline, but he'll be a solid back of the rotation fantasy pitcher. Solid value pick is an accurate assessment.
noseeum
Major League Manager
Major League Manager

Postby bigwords » Tue Sep 23, 2008 3:34 pm

His strikeout rate has actually increased as the year has gone on.