stevethumb wrote:look at the boxscore of sunday's dodgers game..the starting pitcher jjohnson left after 4 1/3 IP .. he had the lead which was never relinquished, however, he did NOT go 5 IP so he can NOT get the win..that decision is the responsibility of the OFFICIAL SCORER (a paid position usually held by a veteran sportswriter from the home team's city)..in that game the official scorer had 4 choices: bfalkenborg who finished the 5th inning successfully or the next 2 relievers cwade and hckuo who both pitched a very effective 1.2 and 1.1 IP respectively while protecting a close lead..the final IP was by rtroncone who while effective only pitched one inning and had the largest lead of the game..the scorer arbitrarily awarded the win to wade
Actually... you bring up an interesting point here. Is the official scorer actually prevented from awarding a win to the starting pitcher if he goes less than 5 innings? If so, that is dumb.
Take an extreme scenario: a starting pitcher leaves with a 13-0 lead after 4-2/3 perfect innings due to injury. Four relievers each pitch 1+ inning to finish off the game but each gives up 3 ER, resulting in a 13-12 win.
Is it true that the official scorer in that case is prevented from giving the win to the starter?
"The government cannot give to anyone anything that it does not first take from someone else"