BAYwatch & Boston's Identity! - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2014 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to Boston Red Sox

BAYwatch & Boston's Identity!

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

BAYwatch & Boston's Identity!

Postby DRAFTAHOLIC » Fri Aug 01, 2008 10:43 am

Are the Sox Losing Their Unique Identity or Creating a New One? BAYWATCH!

Some Boston Red Sox Players Have Become A HouseHold Name....with such names as Nomahhh, Manny being Manny, Tony C, Yaz, Teddy Ballgame and the like. Years ago I could not imagine Boston without Garciaparra, could you? In fact as a photographer I took a beautiful picture of Nomar that I just blew up to poster size just days before he was traded. I still have not been able to put that poster on the wall. Now Boston has lost Manny Ramirez, the guy we loved to laugh at as well as cheer for and scratch our head about. Manny sort of left us in the same way that Nomar did; with a scowl.

We no longer have the Ortiz and Manny combination that we have known and loved, especially since 2004; the same combination that brought fear to the New York Yankees. That identify of Boston has vanished and as such we must hold a moment of silence and drink a beer to that memory. Ok, are you done now? Good! Because let's face it, gone are the days when a baseball team remained pretty much the same lineup year in and year out. I loved the standard of Evans, Lynn & Rice and always expecting to see them in the outfield the next season.