Bobby Cox' Closer Management Style - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2014 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to Baseball Leftovers

Bobby Cox' Closer Management Style

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

Bobby Cox' Closer Management Style

Postby zoolander12 » Wed Jun 25, 2008 11:46 am

Hi, I just want to get a feel for how Cox manages his closers, as I am new to fantasy baseball. I am curious because currently I own Mike Gonzalez, Hoffman, Torres, and F Cordero, and have only 2 RP, and 2P spots, but I want to put in an MR to get me some holds. So, I am thinking of dropping Mike gonzalez for a SP. I am hesitant because the braves are a good team and will win a lot of games, and give Mike opportunities to close. But I seem to have heard from somewhere that Cox is very frustrating manager with respect to using his relievers and closers. Is this true, does he do this thing where he puts in a lefty to get one out, puts in a righty to get another, etc. Will he take away some of Gonzalez' value?
zoolander12
Softball Supervisor
Softball Supervisor

Home Cafe: Baseball

Re: Bobby Cox' Closer Management Style

Postby BillyHallDisciple » Wed Jun 25, 2008 11:54 am

Bobby Cox runs his closer system the same way Mike Shanahan runs the Denver Broncos' Runningbacks in football... I would just stay away from the situation entirely.
BillyHallDisciple
General Manager
General Manager

Postby Maris09 » Wed Jun 25, 2008 6:55 pm

BillyHallDisciple wrote:Bobby Cox runs his closer system the same way Mike Shanahan runs the Denver Broncos' Runningbacks in football... I would just stay away from the situation entirely.

Stay away from the clear leader for Saves on a contending team??? 8-o

I think not.

I would hold on to Gonzalez man. They may baby him for a month or so, but he's by far the best arm in the pen right now. The only guy who's close in skill level is Soriano, and there little chance in my mind he becomes a real option this year again.