Baseball rules question: Did I get the call right? - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2014 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to General Talk

Baseball rules question: Did I get the call right?

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

Baseball rules question: Did I get the call right?

Postby sportsaddict » Sun Jun 01, 2008 5:03 pm

I'm an umpire in an 8th grade baseball league. It's not a select league or anything but it's still pretty competitive. Anyway, yesterday was the championship game. Early in the game, the home team had runners on second and third with 1 out. The batter flied out to the right fielder, and the runner on third tags up to score. The runner on second base, however, is out in la-la land, and the right fielder throws to second and throws him out- it's a double play. Just a second before the runner on second base got thrown out in the double play, the runner that tagged up crossed the plate.

I immediately ruled that the run should count. I'm not a professional umpire or anything- just a high school kid that enjoys the job and wants to make some money- but I really just went with my gut on this one. The call was debated by coaches and parents for a few minutes, but in the end, it's my call, and I said that the run scored.

This ended up being critical in the outcome of the game, as the home team won by one run, 7-6.

Did I get the call right? Or should I have ruled that because it was a force out, the run did not count?
"Oh, that Lankford and McGee, the trio of 'em. They're a one-man wrecking crew."

-Mike Shannon
sportsaddict
Major League Manager
Major League Manager

Home Cafe: Baseball

Re: Baseball rules question: Did I get the call right?

Postby pokerplaya » Sun Jun 01, 2008 5:36 pm

How was it a force out?

I think you made the right call - the run should count - but I don't understand how that is a force? It was a tag up play, and the run crossed the plate before the 3rd out was made.
pokerplaya
Kitchen Staff
Kitchen Staff