Commissioner's feed back wanted! - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2014 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to Commissioner's Corner

Commissioner's feed back wanted!

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

Commissioner's feed back wanted!

Postby Taters » Sun Apr 06, 2008 9:59 am

I have been playing fanasty baseball for 7 years now, commished 4 leagues, but have played in many. In the past few years I have been trying to come up with the "perfect" stats for a league. I know, nothing is perfect. But I think the cats. in a league, should reflect the "player" not the "team" he is on. So these are the cats. I have come up with. I would like some feedback to see if I'm on the right track, or out in right field.

Batter Cats- OB%,SLG%,HR,AVG,SB,E,
Pitcher Cats- ERA,WHIP,K,CG,SV,HLD

What I'm trying to get at is to have only the players stats that he can control count. I know the Manager has some say in all this,(i.e. SB, CG), but I don't think we should count on players around them to pad the stats we count, (i.e. RBI,R,W,L). Tell me what you think.
Image<thanks alec03
Move over Mantle and Maris, the new blood is here!!
Taters
Softball Supervisor
Softball Supervisor

Home Cafe: Baseball

Re: Commissioner's feed back wanted!

Postby CruiseJD » Mon Apr 07, 2008 9:50 am

I'm not a fan of CG. Pitcher has very little control over that decision and I'm not even sure if enough pitchers get CGs to make valid comparisons.

I would consider replacing CG with Quality Starts (QS). It measures effectiveness of starters over the first 6IP.
CruiseJD
Minor League Mentor
Minor League Mentor

Postby dragoon » Mon Apr 07, 2008 8:50 pm

I'm not sure, I feel that R, RBI and W should be categories in fantasy. I've been using the regular 5x5 plus OPS and holds. I don't really like holds though, it's too random. I may try QS next year, we shall see. Anybody use QS and like it? dislike it?
dragoon
College Coach
College Coach

Postby Matthias » Mon Apr 07, 2008 9:50 pm