Trying to run a league with moderate depth, need advice. - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2015 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to Commissioner's Corner

Trying to run a league with moderate depth, need advice.

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

Trying to run a league with moderate depth, need advice.

Postby bspel55 » Tue Mar 18, 2008 10:27 am

This is my first year running a league and I don't want to do standard Yahoo 5x5 so I tried to throw in a couple other things to make it better, but I have a few questions. This league is H2H btw.

1. Standard Yahoo rosters (2sp, 2rp, 3p) is that good or should I change those?

2. I added 4 categories to make it 7x7... Errors, Hits, Losses, and Holds, as well as making minimum IP 10. Is that high enough and are those categories good enough to make a deep league? I couldn't decide if I should use errors or fielding percentage...

3. If I were to make a 10x10, or just change the settings a little bit, what would you recommend? 10 would be the most I would do, and I doubt I would do 10x10.

Thanks for the help. If you need help please leave a link. Thanks!
bspel55
Softball Supervisor
Softball Supervisor

Home Cafe: Football

Re: Trying to run a league with moderate depth, need advice.

Postby Matthias » Tue Mar 18, 2008 11:29 am

Not sure on roster settings; never done H2H. But you should rethink your categories.

I'm assuming the std 5x5 you're adding to is:
HR, R, RBI, SB, AVG
W, SV, ERA, WHIP, K

Both losses and holds are ok to add to these pitching categories, but not both. Holds encourages MRs, which is fine, but losses also discourage SPs. I would choose one or the other and then add a stat that favors starters. Going with L's and IP's would be a nice balance... you would encourage people to use pitchers while penalizing them for using bad ones.