Anyone here self-employed? I need advice - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2014 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to General Talk

Anyone here self-employed? I need advice

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

Anyone here self-employed? I need advice

Postby Phatferd » Wed Mar 05, 2008 5:45 am

I have been working with this specific company for 5 months as a 1099 employee. This makes me self-employed, which isn't what I really wanted, but it got my foot into the door (I am 24) for an actual career.

Their reasons for making me self-employed were that the state of California makes it hard for them to pay me due to all of their employment laws. My official title is "Technical Sales Rep" and my job is to be the sales representative in Orange and LA Counties for this particular company. I am the only person in California being paid to sell this product. It is a national company, but they only had a Western Regional Sales manager who is based in Arizona and he covers 10 states. Our product has been in stores here for 20 years, so it's not a new product.

I was hired with a salary of $35,000 and a $750 a month expense allowance (for car, health insurance, food, and any other expense). I knew when I took this job that I was getting shafted, but really wanted to take it to build up the experience and use it for future employment. I have been doing this for the past 5 months and not said anything. Today my boss calls me and tells me his boss wants me to turn in call reports on a weekly basis and if I don't I will not get paid.

My first question is can they legally do this if I am self-employed? I understand they can fire me whenever for whatever, but if I am self-employed I have the authority and power to do whatever I feel is fit to perform the job I was asked to do. If I am told when, where, and how to do something, I am an employee of their company. According to the IRS this is the case.