Starting my first auction style keeper league - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2014 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to Beginner's Forum

Starting my first auction style keeper league

Starting my first auction style keeper league

Postby jwalterweatherman » Wed Feb 20, 2008 3:44 am

I've been playing fantasy baseball for about 4 years, but I've mostly played only head to head and the occasional roto league.

I've got a good group of guys who want to do an auction style keeper league.

Any advice on how i should:

1. Configure the league (positions and scoring?)

2. Conduct the draft (i've never done this before)? Online? And if so, what website will allow us to do an auction style draft?

3. How much money should each GM start out with?

4. What website should we use to play? (I've use Yahoo before and I like that site)

5. Any suggestions on how we make keepers work? (I understand you keep them for the same price for a term of 3-5 years?)

Please post suggestions, they are much appreciated! THANKS!
jwalterweatherman
T-Ball Trainer

Home Cafe: Baseball

Re: Starting my first auction style keeper league

Postby BAdams21 » Thu Feb 21, 2008 12:33 pm

1. Configure the league - Keeper leagues generally are ROTO style leagues, with 4X4 5X5 6X6 7X7 and rarely anything over 7X7. Most are either AL or NL only leagues, but there are still allot of NL/AL combined leagues. I prefer NL only because it makes it more competitive and really tests your knowledge about the game.

2. Conduct the draft - Are all of these players local? because if they are local, i recommend a live draft at someones house, with a draft board that you can just put on a wall, and it comes with players stickers.

As far as how to conduct the draft, you can have 1 person bring up a player, say Pujols, then you go around in a circle bidding, or passing on that player, until no one elts want to bid on that person. You do that until your league is filled.