Yahoo Live Draft Nightmare - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2014 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to Baseball Leftovers

Yahoo Live Draft Nightmare

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

Yahoo Live Draft Nightmare

Postby John Bonzo » Sat Mar 01, 2003 1:59 am

Has anyone else had problems with live drafts in yahoo? I usually end up missing about half the draft. The last one i missed rounds 5-11 and 14-17. I reall hate it becasue i didnt invest too much time in my pre-rankings, so i ended up with mondesi in like round 9 and stuff like that.

I have t1 connection, updated java, settings right and all that. I guess its just netowrk settings that is the problem? Anyone have any ideas, or had any similar draft experiences?
John Bonzo
Major League Manager
Major League Manager

User avatar

Posts: 1285
Joined: 27 Jan 2003
Home Cafe: Baseball
Location: Houston, TX

Postby Zoob » Sat Mar 01, 2003 2:30 am

What exactly happened? Booted? :-#
[color=blue]Coors Field [u]#1[/u][/color]
Zoob
College Coach
College Coach

User avatar

Posts: 179
Joined: 23 Feb 2003
Home Cafe: Baseball
Location: Boulder, Colorado

Postby John Bonzo » Sat Mar 01, 2003 2:59 am

I didnt get booted, the clock just kept going when it was someone's turn, and when it got to 0 it stayed there for like 20 minutes. Then i "caught up" with the draft a few rounds later.

Makes me think its a bandwidth problem, but it shouldnt be, i average like 120 k.
John Bonzo
Major League Manager
Major League Manager

User avatar

Posts: 1285
Joined: 27 Jan 2003
Home Cafe: Baseball
Location: Houston, TX

Postby Guest » Sat Mar 01, 2003 1:13 pm

Great. I have a live draft with Yahoo today. It's my first time using Yahoo (I usually use Sportsline but they're charging 10 bucks a team now). When I go to the league's homepage, it says "7 For best results with the Live Draft, please download and install the latest version of Microsoft's Java virtual machine", but when I click on the link, it says that page cannot be displayed. Any ideas?
Guest


Home Cafe: Football
Friendliness: %

yea

Postby rjforlife » Sat Mar 01, 2003 3:14 pm

i too have missed rounds due to computer freezing up. i think you just cant do ANYTHING else on your computer while doing the draft, which includes just running programs that play music even if you are not tinkering with them.
Goldy is King.
rjforlife
Hall of Fame Hero
Hall of Fame Hero

User avatar
CafeholicResponse TeamCafe WriterCafe RankerMock(ing) Drafter
Posts: 7509
(Past Year: 748)
Joined: 25 Jan 2003
Home Cafe: Baseball
Location: Vegas Baby

Postby Zoob » Sat Mar 01, 2003 4:03 pm

It sounds like you'l have to manually surf to Microsoft and d/l their Java virtual machine's latest version but my guess is that it came with IE6. It also sounds like you'll have to close all programs while drafting which, as I remember, was recommended.

Yahoo has been #1 for several years with all others being just a fraction of their players.
[color=blue]Coors Field [u]#1[/u][/color]
Zoob
College Coach
College Coach

User avatar

Posts: 179
Joined: 23 Feb 2003
Home Cafe: Baseball
Location: Boulder, Colorado

Yahoo Links

Postby beanis » Sat Mar 01, 2003 4:38 pm

Here's a possible solution to clicking on the Java link from Yahoo:

Yahoo's been having a problem for at least a year now with the links on their pages. For some reason, when you click them, you are directed to a url "http://something?-http://real_url.html" The trick is to click on the link and then manually delete the 1st part of the url, up to the second "http://". Then just hit enter and you'll go to the actual site. I don't know if this is the problem in your specific case, but I have experienced it many, many times on yahoo.

Hope this helps,

Beanis
beanis
T-Ball Trainer

User avatar

Posts: 2
Joined: 23 Jan 2003
Home Cafe: Baseball
Location: Satellite of Love

Postby ramble2 » Sat Mar 01, 2003 5:15 pm

Out of curiosity, has anyone had any problems with the Yahoo draft while using a Mac operating OS X? I have a live draft tomorrow and don't have any time to pre-rank my players.
ramble2
General Manager
General Manager

User avatar
CafeholicFantasy ExpertCafe Ranker
Posts: 2952
(Past Year: 5)
Joined: 27 Feb 2003
Home Cafe: Baseball
Location: Salt Lake City

Postby Brokentusks9 » Sat Mar 01, 2003 6:03 pm

My buddy has a new imac, and he didn't seem to have any problems in our draft. Good luck ;-D
Brokentusks9
Minor League Mentor
Minor League Mentor

User avatar
Mock(ing) Drafter
Posts: 628
Joined: 20 Nov 2002
Home Cafe: Baseball
Location: Saskatoon

Postby jpgretzky15 » Sat Mar 01, 2003 6:16 pm

ramble2 wrote:Out of curiosity, has anyone had any problems with the Yahoo draft while using a Mac operating OS X? I have a live draft tomorrow and don't have any time to pre-rank my players.


Should be fine. I have Mac OSX and have had it since August, and my basketball and hockey drafts on Yahoo have gone great, so baseball should be just fine too ;-D
jpgretzky15
College Coach
College Coach

User avatar

Posts: 193
Joined: 16 Feb 2003
Home Cafe: Baseball

Next

Return to Baseball Leftovers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests

Forums Articles & Tips Sleepers Rankings Leagues


Today's Games
Sunday, Sep. 14
(All times are EST, weather icons show forecast for game time)

Tampa Bay at Toronto
(1:07 pm)
Cleveland at Detroit
(1:08 pm)
Washington at NY Mets
(1:10 pm)
Miami at Philadelphia
(1:35 pm)
Chi Cubs at Pittsburgh
(1:35 pm)
Cincinnati at Milwaukee
(2:10 pm)
Boston at Kansas City
(2:10 pm)
Minnesota at Chi White Sox
(2:10 pm)
Colorado at St. Louis
(2:15 pm)
Atlanta at Texas
(3:05 pm)
Houston at LA Angels
(3:35 pm)
LA Dodgers at San Francisco
(4:05 pm)
San Diego at Arizona
(4:10 pm)
Oakland at Seattle
(4:10 pm)
NY Yankees at Baltimore
(8:05 pm)

  • Fantasy Baseball
  • Article Submissions
  • Privacy Statement
  • Site Survey 
  • Contact