What site to use for school fantasy auction league? - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2014 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to Commissioner's Corner

What site to use for school fantasy auction league?

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

What site to use for school fantasy auction league?

Postby scotty.ballgame » Thu Feb 07, 2008 12:44 am

Hi all,
I'm a middle school teacher and have run a league with my students for the last few years. We've had a live draft each year over the course of a few sessions after school, and then I've used Yahoo (and ESPN last year) for their free leagues and it's been great. I register each student for their own unique username and password, send invites out to those emails that have access to, and I do all the joining of the league for them so everything's up and running for the kids once the season begins.

I'm now thinking about having an auction draft instead of the traditional snake draft. I want my students to do some math and keep track of their $260 budget and it'll incorporate some strategy into how they pick their squads. My question though is - What site should I use for this league now that we're having an auction, and how will free agent acquisitions/waiver wire pickups work during the season? It's the first time I'm doing this so please bear with me. You can't have an auction draft, make a team based on $260 to begin the season with, and then just say free agent pickups are based on waivers, can you? I can't really spend $80 for a CBS league as I'm not being reimbursed by my district and I also don't think I can get each student a CBS username and password if they're under 13 years old.