Tell me what is wrong with my rating system - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2014 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to Beginner's Forum

Tell me what is wrong with my rating system

Tell me what is wrong with my rating system

Postby pahcct » Sun Jan 20, 2008 10:18 pm

Hey guys, I am a newbie at fantasy baseball. I played in the MLB.com 2007 Open last year and really enjoyed it so I am going to try to get a little more serious about it this year.

Just to mess around with some stats I took the top 100 home run hitters from the NL and the top 100 from the AL and put them into an excel spreadsheet. On one sheet I deleted all but the offensive 5x5 stats (HR, R, RBI, AVE, SB). I sorted each column decending and then assigned a rank of 1 to 200 for each player in each of the 5 categories. So for instance Matt Holiliday was 4th in Ave, 40th in SB, 3rd in RBI, 6th in HR, and 6th in Runs.

PLAYER TEAM POS R HR RBI SB AVG AVE P SB P RBI P HR P RUNS P 5 X 5 P 5X5 AVE

M Holliday COL OF 120 36 137 11 0.34 4 40 3 6 6 59 11.8

Next, I used each ranking as a value and added them together to get 5x5 Points - Holliday for example was 59 points. Using this sheet I can filter for each position to see who the leaders were.

Is my rational correct here for 5x5 Roto. Here is my concern - look at this list of the top ten short stops according to my 5x5 Points:

1. H Ramirez
2. J Rollins
3. T Tulowitzki
4. C Guillen
5. D Jeter
6. O Cabrera
7. K Greene
8. M Young
9. J Hardy
10. J Reyes

A good example of why I am wondering if this type of ranking system is correct is the difference between J. Reyes and T. Tulowitzki. Reyes was number 1 in steals but below average elsewhere.
Here were Reyes' rankings 92 1 149 153 7 (1 in SB and 7 in Runs)
Here are Tulowitzki's rankings: 61 60 35 48 20
According to my ranking system Tulowitzki is more valuable than Reyes. Do you think this is correct?

I hope this was understandable and thanks to anyone who responds.
pahcct