help with a offline draft - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2014 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to Commissioner's Corner

help with a offline draft

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

help with a offline draft

Postby dukedude2440 » Sun Jan 20, 2008 9:20 pm

i am the commish of my league and i am running the league at cbs. it is a bunch of friends that play in it so we are wanting to have a offline draft at my house. please i have never done this before so i dont really know how to pull this off. i know i will prolly need a white board to write on. also i think i will have to print out the player rankings off the web site. there for everybody will have something to look at. any other tips guys please help. i want to make this as good as possible please help.
dukedude2440
Little League Legend
Little League Legend

Home Cafe: Baseball

Re: help with a offline draft

Postby WaCougMBS » Mon Jan 21, 2008 12:59 am

A draft board would be a great start, but I wouldn't provide any kind of information for the other guys. It is their responsibility to bring their own cheat sheets and rankings. You don't want to help anyone remember to take your sleeper one round before you, do ya? :-)

The biggest/best piece of advice that I could give is to have a 3rd party auctioneer or draft MC to control the flow and make all the proper notes, etc. You don't want to participate in the draft AND control and guide everything at the same time. This causes chaos and disorganization that will likely kill the draft tempo and hurt your drafting mojo.

I think there are a handful of other suggestions that other people will make, but I would start with a big whiteboard, some tasty snack food, and a top-notch cheat-sheet for your eyes only. Leave the rest up to the auctioneer/MC and have a great draft!
2012 H2HWS West A champion
WaCougMBS
Radio Pimp
Radio Pimp