Playing in deeper leagues - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2015 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to Baseball Leftovers

Playing in deeper leagues

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

Playing in deeper leagues

Postby sportsaddict » Wed Jan 02, 2008 12:51 am

I've never played in a league with more than 12 players, but this year I am thinking about joining a deep league if I can find one.

I have a few questions. First, how deep is too deep? I want to play in a league where there are more positions and more teams, a league where you've got to really dig deep in the player pool. But when does it start getting ridiculous? Over 20 teams? When you have middle and corner infielders, etc?

Also, are there certain strategies to take on for deeper leagues? Just anything in general is what I'm looking for, because I am completely new to deep leagues.

Thanks for any input.
"Oh, that Lankford and McGee, the trio of 'em. They're a one-man wrecking crew."

-Mike Shannon
sportsaddict
Major League Manager
Major League Manager

Home Cafe: Baseball

Re: Playing in deeper leagues

Postby CadensDad » Wed Jan 02, 2008 1:24 am

I consider anything over 16 teams too deep, because you generally get into non active owners then. But if they stay active you can go as deep as you'd like.

As far as strategies goes, the deeper the league the more you need to research. Because in a deep league say 16 teams your 4th round pick wont even be on most peoples top 50, and your 9th round pick wont be on anyones top 100. So make sure you research and such before you get into a league real deep.

“Never argue with a idiot, because first they will bring you down to their level. Then beat you with experience.”
CadensDad
Hall of Fame Hero
Hall of Fame Hero

Cafe RankerMock(ing) Drafter
(Past Year: 2)

Postby GotowarMissAgnes » Wed Jan 02, 2008 2:13 am