2008 , Interesting year for draft. - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2014 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to Baseball Leftovers

2008 , Interesting year for draft.

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

2008 , Interesting year for draft.

Postby Dan Charette » Sun Dec 30, 2007 11:48 am

Hi all, I've been playing fantasy baseball since 2003. It seems to me that 2008's draft will be the most interesting since I've been playing. Here's why I think this is so.
I'll try and place players into certain categories. Please add players as you see fit.
The declining aging players. Can some of these guys muster up another good year ?
Carlos Delgado, Jason Giambi, Jeff Kent, Miguel Tejada, Johnny Damon, Garret Anderson, Jim Edmonds, Bobby Abreau .
Then there's all kind's of players coming off surgeries, or just battled nagging injuries all year.
Gary Sheffield, Chipper Jones, Ryan Zimmerman, Troy Glaus, Eric Chavez, Hank Blalock, Joe Crede, Rafael Furcal, Jason Bay, Vernon Wells, Josh Hamilton, Milton Bradley, Francisco Liriano, Chris Carpenter, Randy Wolf, are some examples.
There's many highly touted young players. Can they step it up ? Guys like Delmon Young, Alex Gordon, Cameron Maybin, Ian Kinsler.
There's also those who aren't yet old and had bad years. Players like Bonderman, Andruw Jones, Travis Hafner , etc::
Add to this the many good young pitchers such as McGowen, Gallardo, Jiminez, Garza, Hughes, Chamberlain, Snell, Billingsley, Shields, and Francis.
I guess what I'm trying to get at is there's so many different reasons for not knowing when to draft a large number of players that this will lead to some great value picks later in the draft.
Also , the first round is in a state of change. There's also in my opinion a lot less real good outfielders. This especially matters in leagues that play LF, CF, RF as seperate outfield positions.
When looking at ADP's in mock drafts, I see many changes in when players are drafted.