Sports Journalism - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2015 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to General Talk

Sports Journalism

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

Sports Journalism

Postby BronXBombers51 » Wed Nov 14, 2007 10:28 pm

Hey guys...

I'm in my first semester as a college student. I was unsure for a while of what I wanted to major in and what career I really wanted to pursue, but sports writing is really the one thing that kept coming back to me. Writing has always been one of my stronger areas and I can literally talk sports forever. I love checking in on these forums and getting involved in discussions/debates and learning new things. I really feel that sports writing or sports broadcasting (radio?) is what I want to do and was able to take advantage of a family connection in order to get myself into the journalism program (rare for freshman to be immediately admitted.)

I know there are a lot of guys on here that have pursued the sports journalism career, and there are probably even more looking to pursue it, like me. I realize it's a very competitive field and I just wanted to get some advice from you guys who have gone through it or are currently going through it.

To be honest, I really don't have any idea of how to go about it. Obviously I'm part of the journalism program, but what types of things should I be doing to separate myself from the pack? I started a blog and try to write as often as possible to keep some sort of record of my writing. What other things should I be doing to really help me in the future?

Thanks in advance to any advice you can give.
BronXBombers51
Hall of Fame Hero
Hall of Fame Hero

Mock(ing) Drafter
(Past Year: 53)
Home Cafe: Baseball

Re: Sports Journalism

Postby dclark0699 » Wed Nov 14, 2007 11:46 pm

Yay journalism!

I'm a second year at OSU in the journalism program. In a perfect world I'd love to be a satirist or a screenwriter...but I'll probably end up in the sports news world.