Projection comparison done by BP - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2014 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to Baseball Leftovers

Projection comparison done by BP

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

Projection comparison done by BP

Postby Steve-o » Thu Oct 04, 2007 10:08 am

I love BP and am 90% sure this is a free link. But I'll hit some of the highlights.

2007 Hitter Projection Roundup

by Nate Silver

Disclaimer: there are as many ways to evaluate projections as there are to create them. This is a SQuiD (Semi Quick-n-Dirty) method that involves looking at some basic descriptive statistics.

I was able to find access to eight projection systems that are either publicly available or I have a subscription to of some kind. These were: PECOTA, Sean Smith’s CHONE, Dan Szymborski’s ZiPS, Tango’s Marcel, and the projections from The Hardball Times (THT), ESPN Fantasy, Rotowire, and RotoTimes, respectively.

Finally, my favorite metric, which is based determining which systems give us the best information. Specifically, what I’m doing here is throwing all the forecasts into a regression analysis and determining which ones contribute the most to the forecast bundle. This is basically a combination of how accurate a forecasting system is and how unique it is.

System Coeff t-score
PECOTA +.508 3.46**
ZiPS +.413 2.16**
ESPN +.285 2.49**
Marcel +.237 1.22
THT -.018 -0.11
CHONE -.033 -0.16
RotoWire -.171 -1.05
RotoTimes -.320 -1.86
(Constant +.067 1.15)