Streaming Pitchers in World Series... - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2014 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to Commissioner's Corner

Streaming Pitchers in World Series...

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

Streaming Pitchers in World Series...

Postby KHowe » Fri Sep 21, 2007 12:36 pm

Is streaming pitchers (dropping pitchers, picking up new ones on waivers) during the World Series considered cheating, or bad etiquette? I'm the commisioner and never set any rules against it. I'm currently in the World Series, and because of a heavy college workload I completely missed the chance to start Aaron Haraang the other night. I missed 6K's, a win, and a great 2.43 ERA! Maybe it's my own fault for not planning ahead more, but I picked up another starter in place of a Haarang to try and pick up another W. I was thinking, why not do this with the rest of my team? This is my first time in the World Series, and I'm playing the guy who's won the past 3 years.

So...is it cheating or gaining a competitve edge that's perfectly fair?
KHowe
Softball Supervisor
Softball Supervisor

Home Cafe: Baseball

Re: Streaming Pitchers in World Series...

Postby Lofunzo » Sat Sep 22, 2007 12:09 pm

Streaming in it's true sense is bad no matter when it's done. If you are talking about daily add/drops using spot starters, it's fine as long as it isn't against your league rules. If you have an issue with it, have a rule put in before the season starts.

This reminds me of an issue that I had 2 years ago in my $$ hockey league. We had like 40 moves for the entire season and I used around 20 up until the finals. Well, in the last week of the finals, I used the rest of my moves and won. I might have won without doing that but I wanted to make sure. My opponent was pissed. My opinion was that there was no difference if I burned the 40 during the entire season or all in 1 week. Would anyone have cried if I used all 40 during the first week of the season?? No.