when to start a pitcher - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2014 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to Beginner's Forum

when to start a pitcher

when to start a pitcher

Postby slowday » Fri Jun 22, 2007 12:04 am

This is my first year playing fantasy baseball and there has been a lot to learn. I never realized what a casual baseball fan I was until I started playing fantasy baseball. I'm in one of the Yahoo roto non-keeper mixed 5x5 leagues and I have the option to start a player or bench him up to five minutes before the start of the game, but usually I just let the roster play out. A couple of days ago I picked up Matt Cain off the FA list. Cain will be home in SF against the Yankees who just lost a series on the road in Colorado and I'm getting a bad feeling about starting Cain but I really don't know enough to make an informed choice. In this case the win is not important but ERA and WHIP is. What kind of stats should I be looking at to help me make a decision or do most people just go with their gut based on circumstances; or is this just too complicated a problem for someone playing for the first time to worry about. thanks

slow
slowday
T-Ball Trainer

Home Cafe: Baseball

Re: when to start a pitcher

Postby Lofunzo » Fri Jun 22, 2007 1:30 am

If you are in a roto league, there are many considerations. You mention that you need ERA and WHIP help. Are you sure?? What I would do is see how you are in those cats. Checking the scoring ledger should accomplish that. How are you doing in max IP?? The standard league uses 1,250 IP as the max in roto leagues. If you need to know whether to start an individual pitcher, I would see how you are doing in IP, in the pitching cats, and how that pitcher has done either lately and/or against that specific team.
Lofunzo

ModeratorCafeholicFantasy ExpertCafe RankerEagle EyeHockey ModPick 3 Weekly Winner
(Past Year: 11)

Postby slowday » Fri Jun 22, 2007 3:58 am

Lofunzo