New Keeper League Advice - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2015 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to Baseball Leftovers

New Keeper League Advice

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

New Keeper League Advice

Postby Pablo975 » Sun Feb 01, 2004 1:22 am

Hey guys, I have a new 12 team 5x5 roto mixed league starting up next month with family and friends. I've never done a keeper league before so I need some good advice on picks. We get to keep 4 batters and 4 pitchers each year, and I have first pick to start it all off.

I'm thinking of taking Prior. A-rod is a safer short term lock, but he has been around 10 years now....is Prior a better pick for the future?

Any other good suggestions or advice?

"Ya'll are brutalizing me!" - Ronwell Dobbs
Pablo975
Minor League Mentor
Minor League Mentor

(Past Year: 3)
Home Cafe: Baseball

Postby justinA » Sun Feb 01, 2004 1:27 am

i;d still take arod, but have u thought about salaries of any kind. Most keeper leagues have a way to get players back in the draft pool. To prevent u from having arod for next-to-nothing for the next 7 years.
The Oreos!
justinA
Major League Manager
Major League Manager

Postby Pablo975 » Sun Feb 01, 2004 1:31 am

Sorry, I didn't specify, it's a serpentine draft system. I get pick 1 then pick 24. Standard yahoo setup.

Pablo975
Minor League Mentor
Minor League Mentor

Postby kentx12 » Sun Feb 01, 2004 1:36 am

Arod is the #1 pick nomatter what the terms of the draft imo.
kentx12
Mod in Retirement
Mod in Retirement

CafeholicFantasy ExpertCafe RankerMock(ing) DrafterCafe MusketeerPick 3 Weekly WinnerSweet 16 SurvivorLucky Ladders Weekly Winner
(Past Year: 2)

Postby Pablo975 » Sun Feb 01, 2004 1:42 am

Normally I would agree, BUT....I just wonder how long A-Rod can put up these numbers. The guy has to wear down at some point. I kinda get that "major injury around the corner" vibe from him.

Pablo975
Minor League Mentor
Minor League Mentor

Postby moose » Sun Feb 01, 2004 1:53 am