Careers in baseball? - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2015 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to General Talk

Careers in baseball?

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

Careers in baseball?

Postby Frappy » Thu Jun 14, 2007 10:22 pm

Hello, I recently turned 17 last week as well as took my ACT. This got me thinking about what I really want to do in the future and having a career associated with baseball would just be extremely fulfilling. Im a bright student (4.3 GPA, hoping for 30-32 on ACT) with great ability to learn quickly and adapt. Im dedicated and driven to self-improvement and I usually get results. However, Im stuck at how I would tackle certain ideas in terms of college and education.

Here's a couple things I would love to do:

- Play-by-play/color commentary, radio/TV
- Amuteur Scout, Advanced scout, Minors scout (Do all of those exist? I remember hearing about each)
- Something to do with writing would be interesting too. Writing and writing creatively is something I can do well.
- Agent
- And my dream job would be manager of course :P

I know the last one is shooting for the moon, but what can I do now and in my near future (college) to work towards a career concerning my above interests? Also, if you know of any other Jobs/Careers in baseball that may be interesting - tell me about it!

Thanks a lot for your time and consideration, I hope to hear from you!

-Matt
Frappy
Minor League Mentor
Minor League Mentor

Home Cafe: Baseball

Re: Careers in baseball?

Postby cordscords » Thu Jun 14, 2007 10:39 pm

I'm currently in the 2+2 program with St. John Fisher for Sports Management.

Fisher has a course credit internship with the Rochester Red Wings (Twins AAA club) so I hope to work my way up with that organization and hopefully become a general manager :)
cordscords
General Manager
General Manager

Mock(ing) Drafter
(Past Year: 23)

Postby Frappy » Thu Jun 14, 2007 10:50 pm