Careers in baseball? - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2014 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to General Talk

Careers in baseball?

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

Careers in baseball?

Postby Frappy » Thu Jun 14, 2007 10:22 pm

Hello, I recently turned 17 last week as well as took my ACT. This got me thinking about what I really want to do in the future and having a career associated with baseball would just be extremely fulfilling. Im a bright student (4.3 GPA, hoping for 30-32 on ACT) with great ability to learn quickly and adapt. Im dedicated and driven to self-improvement and I usually get results. However, Im stuck at how I would tackle certain ideas in terms of college and education.

Here's a couple things I would love to do:

- Play-by-play/color commentary, radio/TV
- Amuteur Scout, Advanced scout, Minors scout (Do all of those exist? I remember hearing about each)
- Something to do with writing would be interesting too. Writing and writing creatively is something I can do well.
- Agent
- And my dream job would be manager of course :P

I know the last one is shooting for the moon, but what can I do now and in my near future (college) to work towards a career concerning my above interests? Also, if you know of any other Jobs/Careers in baseball that may be interesting - tell me about it!

Thanks a lot for your time and consideration, I hope to hear from you!

-Matt
Frappy
Minor League Mentor
Minor League Mentor

Home Cafe: Baseball

Re: Careers in baseball?

Postby RocketsDWM » Thu Jun 14, 2007 10:25 pm

Look for a college that has a sport management program. Some colleges that I know have them are:

Syracuse
Ithaca
UMASS-Amherst

There are some others but those are the prominent ones. You could also go into broadcast journalism or just journalism in general and work your way into the sports field.