ERA & WHIP verus W/L - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2014 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to Beginner's Forum

ERA & WHIP verus W/L

ERA & WHIP verus W/L

Postby jimpchip » Sun Jun 10, 2007 7:05 pm

I'm brand new to this (fielding my first team) so bear with what is probably a silly question. I'm not sure I quite understand the emphasis placed on W/L versus what I think is a better representation of a pitcher's performance, namely ERA and WHIP. This may be some sour grapes since I had Gutherie (O's) and, although he had a very respectable performance on Saturday, ended up with a no decision due to lack of run support (typical for an O's starter). I was hoping someone could fill me in on the logic.
jimpchip
T-Ball Trainer

Home Cafe: Baseball

Re: ERA & WHIP verus W/L

Postby Leena » Mon Jun 11, 2007 1:14 am

There's not really any logic about it... most recognize that wins are poor individual statistic.

Wins and losses are general baseball stats that have been kept record of for a long time, and that's what you always see on TV.

If you want, you can create leagues without wins as a stat.
Leena
Softball Supervisor
Softball Supervisor

Postby Fritzenhammer » Mon Jun 11, 2007 10:57 am

Generally, you want to target pitchers with good Strikeout (K) rates, and Whips as close to 1.00 as possible. A low whip indicates a pitcher has the ability to keep batters off the basepaths, and pitchers that can get Ks are generally more capable of getting out of any trouble they may get into. A good strikeout to walk ratio (called K\BB) is an indicator of a pitcher with good control of the strikezone. In general, good pitchers will have a K:BB ratio of at least 2.25 - 3+ strikeouts per walk. (Higher the better)