Golf Club Advice - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2015 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to General Talk

Golf Club Advice

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

Golf Club Advice

Postby bigh0rt » Mon May 28, 2007 1:11 am

Ok, so during Jr. High and High School I golfed 3 or more times a week, played in tournaments, etc. My entire family golfs, and all do so pretty well. When I graduated High School I was shooting low to mid-90s, but haven't golfed since I separated and dislocated my shoulder about five years ago. Just recently I've managed to get my shoulder to a place where I can swing a golf club well enough at the range to the point where I feel I can get through an entire round pain free, so I'm looking to get back into playing this Spring/Summer.

Well, a great deal came my way today on a new set of clubs; a set of 6 - 9 + PW Taylor Made r7 irons, and a Callaway X460 Driver I got brand new for $300 plus shipping costs from a buddy's brother who is a golf pro in the Syracuse area.

Well, I've been investigating how I want to fill out the set, and I've been looking at the new(er) hybrid clubs. I was considering picking up two different degree hybrids to replace fairway woods as well as my 3 - 5 irons. I've never swung one, nor do I know how they play, but for you guys who play often or have used them, what did you think? Are they good clubs? Worthy of using en lieu of both fairway woods and low irons? I've heard mixed reviews from some of my buddies who golf as regularly as I used to still, and I'm looking to get back into it in a big way.

Also, other than adding a Sand Wedge and a Putter, any other clubs you'd recommend adding to my bag? My one friend has this ridiculous flop wedge that he swears by, but me being left-handed, I'm limited on what I can test out. B-)

Thanks for your help in advance guys.
bigh0rt
Hall of Fame Hero
Hall of Fame Hero