Trick Question - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2014 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to Baseball Leftovers

Trick Question

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

Postby apz » Tue May 22, 2007 9:37 am

Does a hit batter count as a pitch? If not, I could see that happening.
apz
Minor League Mentor
Minor League Mentor


Posts: 556
(Past Year: 33)
Joined: 31 May 2005
Home Cafe: Baseball
Location: New Jersey

Postby abc11435 » Tue May 22, 2007 9:38 am

calc27 got the answer. See above.
abc11435
Minor League Mentor
Minor League Mentor

User avatar

Posts: 702
(Past Year: 23)
Joined: 26 Apr 2007
Home Cafe: Baseball

Postby hot4tx » Tue May 22, 2007 9:43 am

He could get his mage to cast K -7 on the hitter, causing the elven umpire to send the hitter to first. If the hitter is a Druid paladin, he could use his holy shield to avoid being tagged out as he rounds the bases in his Speed +6 Leather boots. :-°

D&D/Wizard/WOW
hot4tx
Major League Manager
Major League Manager

User avatar

Posts: 1933
(Past Year: 135)
Joined: 16 Feb 2007
Home Cafe: Baseball

Postby abc11435 » Tue May 22, 2007 9:44 am

Your logic is flawed. I don't believe Druids can be Paladins.
abc11435
Minor League Mentor
Minor League Mentor

User avatar

Posts: 702
(Past Year: 23)
Joined: 26 Apr 2007
Home Cafe: Baseball

Postby A Fleshner Fantasy » Tue May 22, 2007 9:55 am

abc11435 wrote:Well technically that run is charged to the previous pitcher. But let me make it more difficult.

Q: How can a pitcher start a game and get an "L", without throwing a single pitch?


With my example, the run is charged to the previous pitcher, but the new one still gets the L.

Anyway, the only way I can think of if he starts a game is a whole crapload of balks
Image

2011 Live Free or DyNasty Champ
A Fleshner Fantasy
Wicked Wikitect
Wicked Wikitect

User avatar
CafeholicMock(ing) Drafter
Posts: 3541
(Past Year: 32)
Joined: 11 May 2006
Home Cafe: Football

Postby Fantasy Sports Genie » Tue May 22, 2007 10:00 am

hot4tx wrote:He could get his mage to cast K -7 on the hitter, causing the elven umpire to send the hitter to first. If the hitter is a Druid paladin, he could use his holy shield to avoid being tagged out as he rounds the bases in his Speed +6 Leather boots. :-°

D&D/Wizard/WOW

I'm gonna cast... Magic Missile!
Fantasy Sports Genie
Major League Manager
Major League Manager

User avatar

Posts: 1388
(Past Year: 58)
Joined: 1 Feb 2007
Home Cafe: Baseball

Postby OneLoveBoomer » Tue May 22, 2007 10:29 am

abc11435 wrote:
calc27 wrote:He would have to do something illegal like go his mouth 4 times which would walk the runner then there's an error on a pickoff attempt and the runner somehow scoress from 1st.

I'm sure the answer you're thinking of is much better, or at least I hope so.


Sorry to disappoint you, but you are right. :-)


Eh.

That's a no-no. He'd almost certainly get fined.

8.02
The pitcher shall not --
(a) (1) Bring his pitching hand in contact with his mouth or lips while in the 18 foot circle surrounding the pitching rubber. EXCEPTION: Provided it is agreed to by both managers, the umpire prior to the start of a game played in cold weather, may permit the pitcher to blow on his hand.
PENALTY: For violation of this part of this rule the umpires shall immediately call a ball. However, if the pitch is made and a batter reaches first base on a hit, an error, a hit batsman or otherwise, and no other runner is put out before advancing at least one base, the play shall proceed without reference to the violation. Repeated offenders shall be subject to a fine by the league president.
OneLoveBoomer
Hall of Fame Hero
Hall of Fame Hero

User avatar
CafeholicMock(ing) Drafter
Posts: 6184
(Past Year: 1)
Joined: 11 Sep 2005
Home Cafe: Baseball
Location: The offseason.

Postby NYCBuckeye » Tue May 22, 2007 10:38 am

calc27 wrote:He would have to do something illegal like go his mouth 4 times which would walk the runner then there's an error on a pickoff attempt and the runner somehow scoress from 1st.

I'm sure the answer you're thinking of is much better, or at least I hope so.



Actually, and I might be wrong (as I often am), but let's say he goes to his mouth twice (ball one, ball two). Then the manager pulls him for being injured, or just being an idiot. A new pitcher comes in and walks the guy, but the walk is charged to the starting pitcher. Then, the runner scores, and the run is charged to the starter.
NYCBuckeye
College Coach
College Coach

User avatar

Posts: 346
Joined: 31 Mar 2007
Home Cafe: Baseball
Location: New York, NY

Postby Tavish » Tue May 22, 2007 10:46 am

Or the pitcher could just stand there and fail to deliver the ball within the 12 second time limit. Each infraction of exceeding the time limit is an automatic ball.
Image

Bury me a Royal.
Tavish
Mod in Retirement
Mod in Retirement

User avatar
CafeholicFantasy ExpertCafe WriterCafe RankerMock(ing) DrafterEagle EyeCafe SpotterWeb Supporter
Posts: 11067
(Past Year: 26)
Joined: 3 May 2004
Home Cafe: Baseball

Postby NYCBuckeye » Tue May 22, 2007 10:55 am

Tavish wrote:Or the pitcher could just stand there and fail to deliver the ball within the 12 second time limit. Each infraction of exceeding the time limit is an automatic ball.


Interesting, I never knew that ... Amazing how Steve Trachsel never broke that rule!
NYCBuckeye
College Coach
College Coach

User avatar

Posts: 346
Joined: 31 Mar 2007
Home Cafe: Baseball
Location: New York, NY

PreviousNext

Return to Baseball Leftovers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests

Forums Articles & Tips Sleepers Rankings Leagues


Today's Games
Thursday, Aug. 21
(All times are EST, weather icons show forecast for game time)

Houston at NY Yankees
(1:05 pm)
Cleveland at Minnesota
(1:10 pm)
Detroit at Tampa Bay
(1:10 pm)
indoors
Arizona at Washington
(4:05 pm)
LA Angels at Boston
(7:10 pm)
Atlanta at Cincinnati
(7:10 pm)
San Francisco at Chi Cubs
(8:05 pm)
San Diego at LA Dodgers
(10:10 pm)

  • Fantasy Baseball
  • Article Submissions
  • Privacy Statement
  • Site Survey 
  • Contact